Home » Publications » Reports and papers » Publications » AIWS Standards and Practice Committee

AIWS Standards and Practice Committee

The AIWS Standards and Practice Committee is established to:

  • Update and collect information on threats and potential harm posed by AI
  • Connect companies, universities, and governments to find ways to prevent threats and potential harm
  • Engage in the audit of behaviors and decisions in the creation of AI
  • Create both an Index and Report about AI threats – and identify the source of threat
  • Create a Report on respect for, and application of, ethics codes and standards of governments, companies, universities, individuals, and all others
  • Work with the UN to call for an AI Peace Treaty, to AI, similar to the Chemical Weapons Convention that prohibits the creation, stockpiling, and use of those weapons
  • Work with AI experts on a consensus announcement that “AI experts not engage in any work for, or participate in projects developing AI weapons”.

Members of AIWS Standards and Practice Committee:

Gov. Michael Dukakis, Chairman of Michael Dukakis Institute

Mr. Tuan Anh Nguyen, Director of Michael Dukakis Institute

Prof. Nazli Choucri, MIT

Ms. Sarah Cotterill, Harvard Fellow

Prof. Thomas Creely, U.S. Naval War College, Director of Ethics & Emerging Military Technology Graduate Program

Mr. Allan Cytryn, Representative of Michael Dukakis Institute in New York

Pre. Vaira Vike-Freiberga, President of the World Leadership Alliance – Club de Madrid, Former President of Latvia

Dr. Masahiro Fukuhara, Founder and CEO of IGS and GROW360, Japan

Prof. Jason Furman, Harvard Kennedy School, Fomer Chairman of President Barack Obama’s Council of Economic Advisers

Mr. Ian Goodfellow, Research Scientist at Google

Prof. Hiroshi Ishiguro, Director of the Intelligent Robotics Laboratory, Osaka University, Japan

Prof. Mikhail Kupriyanov, Saint Petersburg Electrotechnical University ‘LETI’

Ms. Beatriz Merino, Former Prime Minister of Peru

Mr. Paul Nemitz, Principal Advisor, Directorate General for Justice and Consumers

Prof. Thomas Patterson, Harvard University

Prof. Derek Reveron, U.S Naval War College

Mr. Marc Rotenberg, President and Executive Director of the Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC)

Prof. Matthias Scheutz, Director of Human Robots Interaction Lab, Tuft University

Prof. David Silbersweig, Harvard University

Prof. Max Tegmark, MIT

Mr. Eliot Weinman, Founder/Conference Chair, AI World, Executive Editor, AI Trends

Prof. Patrick Winston, MIT

Dr. Kazuo Yano, Chief Engineering of Hitachi, Japan